eknazar - desi lifestyle portal
Advertise | Contact Us
My Account | My Event Orders

Articles - Others

Navratri - Three Qualities of energy

The nine days of Navratri are classified with the basic qualities of energy areTama’s, Raja’s & Sattva. These three qualities are present in everything surrounding us but vary in their relative amounts. We humans have the unique ability to consciously alter the levels of the qualities in our bodies and minds. The quality of energy cannot be separated or removed in oneself but can be consciously acted upon to encourage their increase or decrease. It can be increased or decreased through the interaction and influence of external objects, lifestyle practices and thoughts.

Let us have a brief knowledge on these three elements/energies...

Tamas (Goddess Durga) is a state of darkness, inertia, inactivity, and materiality. Tamas manifests from ignorance and deludes all beings from their spiritual truths. Other tamasic qualities are laziness, disgust, attachment, depression, helplessness, doubt, guilt, shame, boredom, addiction, hurt, sadness, apathy, confusion, grief, dependency, ignorance.

Rajas (Goddess Laxmi) is a state of energy, action, change, and movement. The nature of rajas is of attraction, longing and attachment and rajas strongly bind us to the fruits of our work. Other rajasic qualities are anger, euphoria, anxiety, fear, irritation, worry, restlessness, stress, courage, rumination, determination, and chaos.

Sattva (Goddess Saraswati) is a state of harmony, balance, joy, and intelligence. Sattva is the guna that yogis achieve towards as it reduces rajas and tamas and thus makes liberation possible. Other sattvic qualities are delight, happiness, peace, wellness, freedom, love, compassion, equanimity, empathy, friendliness, focus, self-control, satisfaction, trust, fulfillment, calmness, bliss, cheerfulness, gratitude, fearlessness, selflessness.

Significances of Navratri

The first three days of Navratri are Tamas, where the goddess is fierce, like Durga and Kali. Tamas is the nature of the Earth, and she is the one who gives birth. The gestation period that we spend in the womb is tamas. It is a state which is almost like hibernation, but we are growing. So tamas is the nature of the Earth and of your birth. You are sitting on the earth. You must just learn to simply be one with her. You are anyway a part of her. When she wishes, she throws you out; when she wishes, she sucks you back.

It is very important that you are constantly reminded of the nature of your body. Right now, you are a mound of earth prancing around. When the earth decides to suck you in, you just become a small mound.

The Middle three days of Navratri Rajas stretching from the fourth to sixth days of Navratri are dedicated to worshipping goddess Lakshmi, who is the giver of prosperity, health and wealth. Once Rajas comes, you want to do something. Once you start doing something, if there is no awareness and consciousness, the nature of rajas is such that it’s good as long as the going is good. When the going gets bad, rajas is going to be super-bad.

A rajasic person has a tremendous amount of energy. It is just that it has to be channelized properly. Every action that you perform can be either a process of liberation or entanglement. If you perform any activity with absolute willingness, that activity is beautiful and creates joy for you. If you perform any activity unwillingly for whatever reason, that activity creates suffering for you. Whatever you are doing, even if you just sweep the floor, give yourself to do it and do it with total involvement. That is all it takes.

When you are passionately involved with something, nothing else exists for you. Passion does not mean “man-woman” passion. Passion means unbridled involvement with something. It could be anything – you can sing passionately, you can dance passionately, or you can just walk passionately. Whatever is in touch with you right now, you are deeply passionate with that. You breathe with passion, you walk with passion, you live with passion. Your very existence is with absolute involvement with everything.

Last Three Days of Navratri Sattva three days from the seventh to ninth days are dedicated to worship goddess Saraswati, the giver of Knowledge. These days are especially very important for students, skilled workers, artisans, and designers where creativity is involved. Moving from tamasic nature to sattva means you are refining the physical, mental, emotional, and energy bodies. If you refine this so much that it became very transparent, you cannot miss the source of creation which is within you. Right now, it is so opaque that you cannot see. The body has become like a wall that is blocking everything. Something so phenomenal – the source of creation – is sitting here but this wall can block it because it is so opaque. It is time to refine it. Otherwise you will only know the wall; you will not know who lives inside.

The final day is called as Vijayadasami that occurs on the tenth day of Dasami or the tenth day of the bright half (Shukla Paksha) of the lunar month. On this day, the three forms of goddess are worshipped together seeking victory and success in life. Most people take up new jobs and begin new endeavours on this day believing that it will result in overwhelming success.

Note: Articles are posted by our users. EkNazar.com is not responsible for the accuracy, errors/omissions of Articles.
Please see our full Terms of Use.

Customer Reviews:

Write a Review & Share your thoughts with Other Customers.
© 2021 All rights reserved eknazar.com
Legal  |   Privacy  |   Advertise   |   Contact Us