eknazar - desi lifestyle portal
Advertise | Contact Us
My Account | My Event Orders

Articles - Hinduism

Hinduism and the four stages of life

Hinduism is one of the world’s oldest religions and it has no historical founder. The term ‘Hindu’ came into existence in the 6th century BC. Its authority rests instead upon a large body of sacred texts that provide Hindus with rules governing rituals, worship, pilgrimage, and daily activities, among many other things. Religious beliefs first appeared in a 7th century CE (Chinese text)Hinduism actually believes in only one god, but in many forms.

Hinduism teaches four goals of human life which are called “Purusarthas”

-Dharma (ethics and duties)

-Artha (work and prosperity)

-Kama (passion and desires)

-Moksha (liberation from the cycle of samsara)

The Sanskrit terminology is kama, artha, dharma, and moksha. I mention these here not because Hindus grow up repeating these four things, but because of how you see them reflected in their practical lives. In theory, these four things make up a hierarchy. Pleasure is an aim of life and not condemned, but most would say there is something better. Prosperity is celebrated and desired at all levels of society. While renunciation is also a theme in Hinduism, seeking and obtaining material comforts has always been accepted as a valid aim in life.

Dharma and moksha are supposed to be more elevated aims and guide Artha and Kama. We’ve discussed the importance and centrality of dharma elsewhere, but it determines to what extent pleasure and prosperity are pursued. Moksha refers to being released from the cycles of rebirth. While most Hindus would agree with its importance, it is usually too abstract of a concept to affect day-to-day lives.

Yoga is a vital part of Hinduism. The essence of yoga is to reach oneness with God. Even if you don’t know Hinduism or India still you know what yoga is. That much influence yoga has created into this world. The original meaning of yoga is ‘Union with God’ for Hindus. But in recent years it has been adopted by western society as well. Lord Shiva is said to be the lord of Yoga often mentioned as Adi Yogi or the First teacher as he is the first person to describe the secret of yoga to the Sapta Rishis or the seven saints.

Some Facts About Hinduism

Hinduism Isn’t the accurate name of the religion.

Sanskrit, Mother Of Many Languages

River Ganga water doesn’t go bad if being kept for a long time. The holy river Ganga has its bacteria called Bacteriophage. It infects and kills other harmful bacteria invading the river. the Ganga is the only river in the world that decomposes organic wastes at a rate 15 to 20 times faster than any other river in the entire world.

The English word Juggernaut(huge or powerful) is named after a hindu deity Lord Jagannath.

Hinduism is the only religion that doesn’t have a conversion rule.

Hinduism believes in a circular concept of the timeline rather than a linear concept. According to Hinduism, time is divided into four Yugas such as Satya-Yuga, Treta-Yuga, Dwapara-Yuga and Kali Yuga.

Note: Articles are posted by our users. EkNazar.com is not responsible for the accuracy, errors/omissions of Articles.
Please see our full Terms of Use.

Customer Reviews:

Write a Review & Share your thoughts with Other Customers.
© 2021 All rights reserved eknazar.com
Legal  |   Privacy  |   Advertise   |   Contact Us