eknazar - desi lifestyle portal
Advertise | Contact Us
My Account | My Event Orders

Articles - Others

Rudraksha - A powerful symbol of Lord Shiva

What does Rudraksha symbolize?

According to the ancient Vedic scriptures, Rudraksha Beads were formed from the tears (Aksha) of Lord Shiva (Rudra). ... Ideally Rudraksha is worn at all times or kept close to the skin, it is a sacred seed that emits a potent protective energy, enabling the wearer to achieve their greater potential.


For someone who is constantly on the move and who eats and sleeps in various places, rudraksha is a very good support because it creates a cocoon of your own energy. You might have noticed that when you go to a new place, sometimes you can fall asleep easily, whereas in certain other places you cannot fall asleep even if you are physically tired. This is because, if the situation around you is not conducive to your kind of energy, it will not let you settle down. For sadhus and sanyasis, places and situations could trouble them because they were constantly moving. One of the rules for them was never to put their head down in the same place twice. Today, once again, people have started eating and sleeping in different places because of their business or profession, so a rudraksha can be helpful.

Another thing is, sadhus or sanyasis living in the forest cannot drink water from just any pool because many times in nature, the water may be poisoned or contaminated with certain gases. If they were to drink it, it might cripple or even kill them. If a rudraksha is held above the water, if the water is good and drinkable, it will go clockwise. If it is poisoned, it will go anticlockwise. It is also a way of checking the quality of food. If you hold it above any positive pranic substance, it will move in a clockwise direction. If you hold it over any negative pranic substance, it will move in anti-clockwise.

Usually the beads are strung together as a mala. Traditionally, they believe the number of beads is 108 plus one. The extra bead is the bindu. There must always be a bindu to the mala, otherwise the energy becomes cyclical and people who are sensitive may become dizzy. An adult should not wear a mala with less than 84 beads plus the bindu. Any number over that is fine.

When you string them, it is best that they are strung with either a silk thread or a cotton thread. If you wear it with a thread then it is good to take care to change the thread every six months. Otherwise one day the thread may snap and your 108 beads will go all over the place. If you want to use copper, silver or gold also it is fine, but what happens most of the time is, you take it to the jeweler to do it. When the jeweler ties a knot with a gold wire or whatever, usually they tie it too tight and close and the inside of the rudraksha cracks. I have seen, despite telling people to tell the jeweler, when they bring it back to me after getting it done, about 30-40% of the time it is broken. It is very important that you make sure it is loose. It should not be tightened too close, because if the inside crumbles with the pressure, it is no good.


The Rudraksha comes in different mukhis, or faces, from 1 face to 21 faces. Of these 1 to 14 are easily available. Each has its significance.

1 Mukhi Rudraksha: Lord Shiva is the presiding deity of this Rudraksha. It brings awareness of the supreme consciousness.

2 Mukhi Rudraksha: Ardhanarishwar, the combined form of Shiva and Shakti, is the presiding deity of this Rudraksha. It brings unity and harmony and represents the Guru-shishya relationship.

3 Mukhi Rudraksha: Agni or fire is its presiding divinity of this Rudraksha. It facilitates the release from the bondage of past karma.

4 Mukhi Rudraksha: Guru is the presiding deity of this Rudraksha. It helps the seekers of higher knowledge.

5 Mukhi Rudraksha: Kalagni Rudra is the presiding divinity of this Rudraksha. This Rudraksha enhances our inner awareness, leading us to our Higher Self.

6 Mukhi Rudraksha: Lord Karthikeya is the presiding deity of this Rudraksha. It brings overall balance and emotional stability.

7 Mukhi Rudraksha: Goddess Lakshmi is the presiding deity of this Rudraksha. It brings new opportunities for wealth and also aids our health.

8 Mukhi Rudraksha: Lord Ganesha is the presiding deity of this Rudraksha. This Rudraksha facilitates the removal of obstacles.

9 Mukhi Rudraksha: Goddess Durga is the presiding divinity of this Rudraksha. It represents power and dynamism and helps us gain both, worldly enjoyments and liberation.

10 Mukhi Rudraksha: Lord Krishna is the presiding deity of this Rudraksha. It represents love and peace. As per the scriptures, this is one of the most powerful Rudrakshas.

11 Mukhi Rudraksha: The 11 minor Rudras are the presiding deity of this Rudraksha. It mitigates the negative influence of the planets.

12 Mukhi Rudraksha: The sun is the presiding deity of this Rudraksha. It brings radiance and power, helps us get rid of low self-esteem, leading to self-motivation.

13 Mukhi Rudraksha: Kamadeva is the presiding deity of this Rudraksha. It manifests attraction in us and also facilitates the awakening of kundalini and other powers (siddhi)

14 Mukhi Rudraksha: Lord Hanuman is the presiding deity of this Rudraksha. It represents courage and will power.

The 15 Mukhi Rudraksha to 21 Mukhi Rudraksha is not so commonly found and hence rarely used.

Note: Articles are posted by our users. EkNazar.com is not responsible for the accuracy, errors/omissions of Articles.
Please see our full Terms of Use.

Customer Reviews:

Write a Review & Share your thoughts with Other Customers.
Radio Caravan Cosmos Big Banner
© 2021 All rights reserved eknazar.com
Legal  |   Privacy  |   Advertise   |   Contact Us